Gary Cunningham to be awarded Medal of the Order of Timor Leste

Balibo House Trust is very proud to convey this official news from the President’s office – Gary Cunningham to receive a posthumous Medal of the Order of Timor Leste. Gary is in some excellent company.
May 5, 2015, 24:15

PALOP and several Portuguese will be decorated in East Timor on May 20

PALOP and Portuguese citizens and organizations, including the former president of the Lisbon Joao Soares camera, Bishop Manuel da Silva Martins, journalist Adelino Gomes and the TSF will be decorated this month in East Timor.

Fidelis Magalhaes, chief of staff of the President House, today released the list of 35 persons and foreign organizations that will be condecoradas with the three degrees of the Order of Timor-Leste (necklace, medals and insignia) during the celebrations of the 13th anniversary of restoration of independence on 20 May.

The 35 decorated in the celebrations this year, taking place in the town of Bobonaro, are recognized “for their contribution and support or East Timor self-determination struggle.”

With the main degree of Timor-Leste Order, the Paste, will be decorated African Countries of Portuguese Official Language (PALOP), former mayor João Soares, the intellectual Noam Chomsky and, posthumously, the Anglican priest Walter Lini who was the prime minister founder of Vanuatu.

A total of 27 people and organizations will be decorated with the second degree, the medal, including the former first lady Kirsty Sword Gusmao, the journalist killed in Balibo in 1975 Gary Cunningham, Bishop Manuel da Silva Martins and the TSF.

Among the decorated also come up several Australian activists, the Portuguese Adelino Gomes, Adriano Moreira and Luisa Teotonio Pereira.

They are also recognized, among others, the Asia Pacific Conference on East Timor organizations / Initiatives for International Dialogue (APCET / IDD) (Philippines), the Portuguese Peace is Possible in East Timor (APPTL), the East Timor Alert Network (ETAN ) of Canada, the East Timor Ireland Solidarity Campaign (ETISC) and the International Platform dde Jurists for East Timor (PIJTTL).

They are decorated with the insignia journalists José Vegar and Peter Cronau and even Stephen John Langford and William Bennett Bartlett.

This is the complete list of decorated:

Necklace of Timor-Leste Order:

Noam Chomsky

Joao Soares

Father Walter Lini (posthumously)

African Countries of Portuguese Official Language (PALOP)


Amanda King

Robert George Boughton

Deborah Joan Durnan

Janelle Anne Saffin

Jefferson Lee

Mark Aarons

Peter Andrew Murphy

Kirsty Sword Gusmão

Gary Cunningham (posthumously)

Robert Van Lierop

Adelino Gomes

Adriano Moreira Luisa

Duarte Silva Teotonio Pereira

Bishop Emeritus Manuel da Silva Martins

Sean Steele

John Patrick Kenneally (posthumously)

Liong Liem Soei

Yumiko Matsuba

Richard Thomas “Tom” Harkin

Tony Patrick Hall Patrick Joseph Kennedy II

Asia Pacific Conference on East Timor / Initiatives for International Dialogue (APCET / IDD), Philippines

Peace is possible in East Timor (APPTL)

East imr Alert Network (ETAN)

Canada East Timor Ireland Solidarity Campaign (ETISC, Ireland)

International platform dde Jurists for East Timor (PIJTTL)



José Vegar

Peter Cronau

Stephen John Langford

William Bennett Bartlett.

Recent Posts

Leave a Comment

Start typing and press Enter to search